Problem Records

From Hornbill
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Home > Service Manager > Requests -> Problem Records

Introduction

The Problem and Known Error forms are used to investigate underlying issues and manage these through to identifying workarounds and eventually resolutions. The available tools help you record information against the Problem / Known Error, communicate with the affected customers, and collaborate with your co-workers.

Related Articles

Features

Heads-Up Display

The Heads-Up Display is a graphical representation of the business process that supports the Problem or Known Error. This display is optional and uses the stages and checkpoints within a workflow to visualise the progress.

  • The entire process is displayed as a grey bar with circles representing the different stages
  • The active stage is represented by a large green circle followed by a connector to the next stage
  • The connector will progressively turn green until the next stage is reached
  • Checkpoints are displayed below each stage
  • Grey Checkpoints are yet to be completed
  • Completed Checkpoints are represented with a green checkmark
  • The Heads-up Display shows just the Stages, and when moving the mouse over the Heads-up Display, the Checkpoints are exposed
  • The Heads-up Display can be Pinned to make the display of the Checkpoints persistent for all Incidents

Request Menu

The request menu is represented by a vertical ellipse button in the top right of the request. The following extra options are available within this menu

  • Copy
The copy options will create an exact copy of the request. By default, copying a request will bring the summary, description, site, priority, category, team, owner, assets, connections, custom fields, documents, attachments, and questions over to the new request. The app setting app.request.copy is available to change these global settings. The workflow associated with the newly created request will start from the beginning of the workflow.

Request Notices

RequestNotice.png

The Notices provide a way to highlight information about a request. You can add notices manually or as part of a workflow. There are two types of available; Alerts and Information. These are displayed at the top of the request in order to make them highly visible to anyone viewing the request.

Configure Notices

The option to Add or Remove notices is available at the top of the Information panel. Clicking this button will provide you with opportunities to add or remove notices.

  • Add a Notice
In the top right of the Configure Notices form, you can click on the + to add a new notice.
  • Notice
Add the text that you would like to display in the notice. This is limited to 255 characters
  • Type
Select from Alert or Information. Alert Notifications are displayed in red with an ! icon, while Information notices are displayed in blue with an i icon
  • Visibility
Select from Portals, Service Desk or Both from where the notice are visable
  • Edit a Notice
From the list of active notices, click on the pencil icon to change the text, type, or visibility
  • Delete a Notice
From the list of active notices, click on the X icon to permanently delete the notice
Information
The owner of the request and users with the roles Problem Management Full Access or Service Desk Admin can configure notices on the request

Action Bar

The Action Bar contains most functions that you can apply to a Problem / Known Error and is located near the top of the form allowing for quick access to standard features.

  • The available Actions can be either made visible or hidden for different types of Problems, based on the associated service.
  • The supporting Business Process Workflow that sits behind the Problem / Known Error can enforce the focus to a specific action when it is required to be completed.
  • Use the Business Process Workflows to lock or unlock action items at any stage in a supporting workflow
  • Global Request Settings control which of these options are enabled when a Problem / Known Error is on-hold
The Update Action within a request is used for posting information into the Timeline which can be used for collaborating with your team members.
Capture information taken from a phone call with a customer. If there is no answer, schedule a call back.
Add images, documents, pdfs, and more directly to this request
Link this request to other requests
Link other related Services to the request
Add Authorisers to a Request
Send an email directly from the request
Change the customer that is associated to this request
Reassign the request to another team or user
Add other users that might have an interested in this request and keep them updated by email
Reset the Priority for this request
Set the Request Category
Associate One or more assets to this request
Record steps to return to business as usual
Let subscribed users to a service know about known issues
See what Boards this request is on or add it to a Board
Capture resolution details
Raised by mistake? Use this option to cancel a request
Select and Print details of the request

Information Box

Located at the top right of the request form, it provides information about the request, including the team and person that the request is assigned to, its current status, the Date Raised, and the priority. Service Targets are displayed if the request is under a Service Level Agreement.

Raised By

When a request is raised, the analyst is added to the Raised By collapsable section of the request. This section contains their contact information (Name (Handle), ID (Link to profile), Organisation, Email, Phone, Mobile).

Customer

If a customer is added to the request, a customer collapsable section will be visible on the request containing configurable attributes about the customer. The desired attributes are Configured via the request settings in the admin console.

Details

Capture, view, and update the Summary and Details of the request.

Timeline

The Timeline keeps track of all the history of the request. Comment and collaborate on any update that has been made.

  • Filter the displayed posts and comments based on the post type, using the Filter option.
  • Select one or multiple filters, and the filter will persist when viewing any request.
  • The number of filters applied will be displayed against the filter
  • Remove the filters by unselecting the filter options

Members

The Members feature lets you invite people into a request who may not usually have access. Adding a user as a member will notify them that they have been added. Once added, they will be able to see the request as if they were part of the team.

Activities

Activities can consist of Activities that have been automatically created and assigned as part of a BPM workflow. At any point, a support person can manually add an activity to schedule any work that they are going to do.